Who’s at the Door?- J C Bratton

The premise of this book is an interesting one but it falls flat in certain areas. It’s a short novella so maybe this is why it doesn’t quite fulfil its promise.

It would certainly appeal to the YA market and has a feel of R L Stine and Christopher Pike books. There is certainly a great deal of suspense in the opening chapters of the book and the doorbell and 3.33 time element was intriguing.

The plot became a little disjointed in the second half and some of the references, such as the nod to one particular book on the detective’s shelf which later became part of the tale felt a little forced.

That said, there is enough suspense to make you want to finish the story to find out how it all links together and the cliffhanger ending when you think everything has been resolved is perfect.

**Blog Tour** In Five Years- Rebecca Serle

I’m delighted to be a part of the blog tour for this brilliant novel by Rebecca Serle.

Perfect for fans of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and One Day, this heart-breaking story of love, loss and life will have you questioning everything you thought you knew about destiny… Where do you see yourself in five years?

Type-A Manhattan lawyer Dannie Kohan has been in possession of her meticulously crafted answer since she understood the question. On the day that she nails the most important job interview of her career and gets engaged to the perfect man, she’s well on her way to fulfilling her life goals.

That night Dannie falls asleep only to wake up in a different apartment with a different ring on her finger, and in the company of a very different man. The TV is on in the background, and she can just make out the date. It’s the same night –December 15th – but 2025, five years in the future.

It was just a dream, she tells herself when she wakes, but it felt so real… Determined to ignore the odd experience, she files it away in the back of her mind.

That is, until four and a half years later, when Dannie turns down a street and there, standing on the corner, is the man from her dream…

Review

The tag line for this novel by Rebecca Serle couldn’t be more apt! This is certainly not your average romance fiction; it’s hardhitting, gritty and has moments that will take your breath away.

Its depiction of the characters and their interactions is thought-provoking and harrowing at times as the reader is drawn into the complex world of the different relationships contained within the story.

The emotional and heartfelt examination of the power and depth of true friendship is one that lingers in the memory long after you finish the book. A fantastic read!

About the Author

Rebecca Serle is an author and television writer who lives between NYC and LA. Serle most recently co-developed the television adaptation of her YA series Famous In Love for Freeform and Warner Brothers Television. She is a graduate of the University of Southern California. Her bestselling US debut adult novel Dinner List was a Book of the Month club pick, Costco bookclub pick, and Bustle Bookclub selection.

Pushing the Limits- Kate McGarry

This is marketed as a YA book, but appeals equally to adults. The reader is immediately drawn into Echo’s story and as time goes on you long to find out what had happened to her, just as much as to satisfy curiosity but equally because you become desperate for her character to find peace.

Noah’s personal situation is less intriguing, but you cannot help but admire his determination to prove the system wrong and do what he believes is right for his brothers. The development of his character as the story progresses is intriguing. As he grows and learns more about himself, so too does the reader and the light and shade of his personality became much more apparent so that, by the end, you find yourself willing everything to work itself out.

With two such in-depth characters, it’s impossible not to get drawn into the relationship that builds between them. While some aspects have a certain sense of predictability about them, there is enough thought given to exploring their emotional vulnerability and demons and the impact this has had on their ability to forge trusting relationships, that you are never quite sure how things will turn out in the end.

I always think it’s the sign of a good book when you want to keep reading, but at the same don’t want it to end and Pushing the Limits certainly fell into that category.