*BLOG TOUR* The Girl I Left Behind- Andie Newton

I’m delighted to be kicking off the blog tour for ‘The Girl I Left Behind’ by Andie Newton!

About the book

What would you risk to save your best-friend?

As a young girl, Ella never considered that those around her weren’t as they appeared. But when her childhood best-friend shows Ella that you can’t always believe what you see, Ella finds herself thrown into the world of the German Resistance. On a dark night in 1941, Claudia is taken by the Gestapo, likely never to be seen again, unless Ella can save her. With the help of the man she loves, Ella must undertake her most dangerous mission yet and infiltrate the Nazi Party.

Selling secrets isn’t an easy job. In order to find Claudia, Ella must risk not only her life, but the lives of those she cares about. Will Ella be able to leave behind the girl of her youth and step into the shoes of another?

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The German Midwife and Kate Furnivall.

About the author

Andie Newton is an American writer living in Washington State with her husband and two boys. She writes female-driven historical fiction set in WWII. The Girl I Left Behind is her first novel. She would love to say she spends her free time gardening and cooking, but she’s killed everything she’s ever planted and set off more fire alarms than she cares to admit. Andie does, however, love spending time with her family, ultra trail running, and drinking copious amounts of coffee.

Review

To the unseeing eye, young Ella Strauss appears to be the perfect National Socialist. She regularly attends Youth League meetings where she is instructed to read Hitler’s Mein Kampf and is often seen in her member’s uniform.

Behind the scenes, however, Ella is uncomfortable with the ideology and uses the meetings to catch up with her close friend Claudia, who she soon discovers is a member of the resistance movement.

Events quickly escalate after Claudia is arrested by the Gestapo and Ella finds herself faced with no option but to flee the city or face arrest herself. Determined to do all she can to to find Claudia, Ella immerses herself into the world of the Reich with far-reaching consequences…

This is an extremely well written novel which relies heavily on historical accuracy to support the narrative. The characters are portrayed realistically and in such detail that the reader is easily able to either empathise or take a dislike to their differing personalities.

This is a story of intense friendships, extreme bravery, strong ideologies and ultimately the lengths a person will go to to fight for what they believe in and one in which the reader can become truly immersed.

With thanks to the author and Aria fiction for inviting me to be a part of this blog tour.

The tour continues until the 25th November.

Author Andie Newton

Cover Reveal: The Girl I Left Behind- Andie Newton

I’m delighted to have been invited to reveal the cover of Andie Newton’s latest book, ‘The Girl I Left Behind’.

About the book

What would you risk to save your best-friend?

As a young girl, Ella never considered that those around her weren’t as they appeared. But when her childhood best-friend shows Ella that you can’t always believe what you see, Ella finds herself thrown into the world of the German Resistance.

On a dark night in 1941, Claudia is taken by the Gestapo, likely never to be seen again, unless Ella can save her. With the help of the man she loves, Ella must undertake her most dangerous mission yet and infiltrate the Nazi Party.

Selling secrets isn’t an easy job. In order to find Claudia, Ella must risk not only her life, but the lives of those she cares about.

Will Ella be able to leave behind the girl of her youth and step into the shoes of another?

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The German Midwife and Kate Furnivall.

About the author

Andie Newton is an American writer living in Washington State with her husband and two boys. She writes female-driven historical fiction set in WWII. The Girl I Left Behind is her first novel. She would love to say she spends her free time gardening and cooking, but she’s killed everything she’s ever planted and set off more fire alarms than she cares to admit. Andie does, however, love spending time with her family, ultra trail running, and drinking copious amounts of coffee.

Follow Andie:

Twitter: @AndieNewton

Facebook: @newtonauthor

Follow Aria

Website: www.ariafiction.com

Twitter: @aria_fiction

Facebook: @ariafiction

Instagram: @ariafiction

I will also be taking part in the book’s blog tour on 14th November, so keep a look out for my review!