Dreaming of Tuscany- T A Williams

Dreaming_of_Tuscany_website.width-1000

I’m thrilled to be part of the blog tour of the latest offering from T A Williams, ‘Dreaming of Tuscany’.

You can read my reviews of some of the author’s previous books here: https://pickledthoughtsandpinot.wordpress.com/2018/05/14/blog-tour-extract-dreaming-of-st-tropez-by-t-a-williams/

https://pickledthoughtsandpinot.wordpress.com/2018/01/14/dreaming-of-florence-t-a-williams

Book Spotlight:

Title: Dreaming of Tuscany

Author Name: T.A. Williams

Previous Books: Dreaming of Venice, Dreaming of Florence, Dreaming of St Tropez and Dreaming of Christmas

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Release Date: 11th February 2019

Author Bio:

T.A. Williams lives in Devon with his Italian wife. He was born in England of a Scottish mother and Welsh father. After a degree in modern languages at Nottingham University, he lived and worked in Switzerland, France and Italy, before returning to run one of the best-known language schools in the UK. He’s taught Arab princes, Brazilian beauty queens and Italian billionaires. He speaks a number of languages and has travelled extensively. He has eaten snake, still-alive fish, and alligator. A Spanish dog, a Russian bug and a Korean parasite have done their best to eat him in return. His hobby is long-distance cycling, but his passion is writing.

Twitter: @TAWilliamsBooks

Links to Book:

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

The glamour of Hollywood. The magic of the Tuscan countryside. One big decision…

Beatrice Kingdom (Bee to her friends) wakes up in hospital in Tuscany. After an accident on a film set leaves her burned and scarred, she feels her whole life has been turned upside down.

Bee is offered the chance of recuperating in a stunning Tuscan villa in the company of a world-famous film star, the irascible Mimi Robertson. Here amid the vines and olive groves, Bee quickly finds there’s more to the place than meets the eye, not least a certain Luca (and Romeo the dog).

As she comes to terms with her injuries and her new life takes shape, Bee will have to travel a road of self-discovery… and make a huge decision.

A joyous, funny and moving tale, Dreaming of Tuscany is a triumph, perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Tilly Tennant, and Jenny Oliver.

Review:

If the drudgery of winter is getting you down and you need an escape, then look no further than ‘Dreaming of Tuscany’. As with all his books, T A Williams transports you to the heart of the location, painting a picture of the scene in the reader’s imagination, introducing them to the sights, tastes and sounds, in this case, of the beautiful Tuscan countryside.

Bee is an endearing character from the outset, although she is in danger of being upstaged throughout by Romeo, the adorable black Labrador who, not only allays her fear of large dogs, but is instrumental in shaping her journey in Italy. Add a potentially temperamental Hollywood star and the prospect of a romantic interest into the mix and you have all the essential elements for a great read!

With thanks to the author and Canelo publishing for my ARC of the book.

Let Her Fly: A Father’s Journey and the Fight for Equality- Ziauddin Yousafzai

41211692

This is an utterly compelling read.

By now, most of us know the story of Malala and her tireless fight to promote the rights of women to an education in Pakistan, but this is told from the perspective of an adoring father, who, realising the inequity in the country of his birth, is determined to give his daughter the best opportunities life can offer.

While Malala has inevitably stolen the headlines, ‘Let Her Fly’ is a poignant tribute told from the eyes of her father who not only doted on her from birth, but who saw in her the endless possibilities that had previously been denied to those within his culture who were deemed to be subservient and uneducated in a male-driven society.

An over-whelming portrait of a family determined to provide the best opportunities, who, when struck by tragedy, simply became stronger and more resolute, this is a fantastic testament to the power of belief and a desire to do the greater good. Malala’s faith in her cause, despite being targeted by the Taliban, shows the tenacity of her character the pride her father feels in her achievements is both heart-warming and inspiring.

A must-read!

The Chalk Man- C J Tudor

51dQ8NDmybL._SL500_

This debut novel spans the late 80’s to the present day, weaving a web of intrigue and deceit in equal measure in an exciting thriller that you won’t want to put down!

In 1986, Eddie, along with his group of friends Hoppo, Fat Gav, Metal Mickey and Nicky are twelve-year-olds without a care in the world, until a trail of chalk drawings leads to a dismembered body in the woods.

When, thirty years later, the chalk drawings reappear, Eddie is drawn back into the mystery and is determined to try and uncover the truth.

The novel touches on the topical issues of the time, with Eddie’s mother caught up in a storm for performing abortions at her clinic, which attracts negative attention not only from local residents, but also from the church community and lends an interesting narrative to the story.

Anderbury, the town where all of the action takes place, is portrayed as a haven of secrets, lies and bitterness, which adds to the tension and drama of the storyline.

Tudor succeeds in creating a thriller which has you on the edge of your seat until the final climax which adds a definite twist to the tale! Highly recommended!